As part of the Education Reform Act of 1993, school councils were mandated for each school across the Commonwealth. The Council offers a way for parents, teachers, and other members of the community to work together in an advisory capacity to the Principal in setting educational goals, identifying educational needs, reviewing the school building’s budget, and preparing the school improvement plan. The School Committee may grant councils additional authority over educational policy at the building level except in those areas subject to collective bargaining.

School Council Membership

Each Council is free to determine the size of its membership but must have at least as many parent representatives as teachers (plus the Principal). No more than 50% of the Council’s membership may consist of members of the public who are not parents, teachers, administrators or students of the school. The Cabot School Council is an elected group of parents, teachers, and community members (appointed by elected members), plus the Principal. The Principal serves as co-chair along with a parent representative. The PTO Co-Presidents sit on council as ex officio members.

School Council Election Process

Teachers and parents are elected by their peers and serve staggered two-year terms. The PTO conducts elections each spring to replace departing parent members. The Council appoints community members to bring a spirit of diversity that reflects the Cabot at-large community.

School Council Meetings

School Councils are subject to the open meeting law. Cabot School Council meetings are held regularly, generally six to eight times throughout the school year. The meeting times and dates are noted on the PTO website and in PTO emails. A copy of the agenda can be obtained prior to the meeting in the office. Minutes of the meetings are available in the school office. The meetings are open to all school members.

2019-2020 School Council Members

Chair Eric Sprung, Principal
Parent Representatives  Lisa Pavlides (2018-2020)
Gayatri Aryan (2019-2021)
Lauren White (2019-2021)
Faculty Representatives Amy Martins
Jill Liebowitz
Community Representatives Lee Guertin, CASP director
PTO President, Ex-Officio Members Joanna Josephson, Nicky Chapman

2018-19 Meeting Dates and Minutes

The Cabot School Council meets on the second Wednesday of each month from 5:00 – 6:00 pm in the Carr Conference Room.